It is for you…

It is for you...

I want to honor today as it is one great woman’s Birthday… my Grandma Teresa. I know she would have loved this, but I know she is in a much better place. My nana was everything to me, she was one hard-working, determined, clean, structure, a wonder wife, friend, grandma, sister, mother, aunt, and just an amazing person. Her personally was brighter then any other and should would only spread kindness through her smile. I am so blessed that I was able to make fabulous memories with this woman.
There wasn’t really any food that she did not eat, but dessert i think was her favourite.
So at university Im going to give my friends a taste of what she would have happily shared with everyone.
I took an interpretation of Banana Cream Pie, as Im at university I do not have all the right equipment but I worked hard to try to think of a great creation… Oreo Banana Cream Pie.
So I first made homemade vanilla pudding the night before

Simple vanilla pudding (makes 2 normal servings or 1 large serving)

1 1/3 cup milk, divided (I use 1% and it’s fine)
1 egg yolk
3 tablespoons sugar
1 tablespoon corn starch
1/8 tsp salt
2 tsp vanilla extract

:: Heat 1 cup of milk in a small saucepan.

:: Meanwhile, whisk together the extra 1/3 cup milk and the egg yolk.

:: In a heatproof 2 cup measuring cup or bowl, whisk together the cornstarch, sugar and salt and then add the milk/egg mixture in a slow stream, whisking so clumps don’t form.

:: Slowly pour the hot milk into the mixture, whisking the entire time.

:: Pour the entire mixture back into the saucepan and cook for a few minutes, until thick and bubbling.

::Transfer into container and cover with cling film

Now when ready to setup
Place crush oreos at the bottom, spoon the vanilla pudding in, then i took double cream and whipped it by hand to get the cream for the pie. Then finally to top it off with an oreo.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY NANA
I miss you and you are always in my thoughts

Leave a Reply

